Skip to main content

Centre for Time-Resolved Spectroscopy


Science Laboratories, South Road, Durham, DH1 3LE.

Tel: 0191 374 4623 Fax: 0191 384 4737


An early triumph of time-resolved spectroscopy was the demonstration (by cine photography) that all four legs of a horse leave the ground when it gallops. Modern techniques using ultrafast lasers enable processes a thousand million times faster than this to be measured. This enables remarkable experiments to be performed on timescales of fundamental importance to physics, chemistry and biology. Time-resolved spectroscopy techniques are a powerful means of studying materials, giving information about the nature of the excitations, energy transfer, molecular motion, and molecular environment, infromation that is not available from steady-state measurements. It is a rapidly advancing field with applications in many areas of science and technology. The purpose of the Centre is to promote interdisciplinary research using time-resolved spectroscopy. Current activities include studies of the photophysics of semiconducting polymers, light emitting materials for use in OLEDs, the photochemistry of sunscreens, and time-resolved luminescence for dating purposes in archaeology.


  • NEW Jobin-Yvon Spex Fluorolog FL3-22 Tau-3  Spectrofluorimeter which can also record lifetimes uinsg phase-modulation methodolgy
  • Time-correlated single photon counting spectrometer for fluorescence lifetime determination and ns-time-resolved spectroscopy
  • State of the art spectrofluorimeters, capable of operation from 200 – 1900nm, studying solution and solid samples, 10K- 350K.
  • Nanosecond/microsecond transient absorption (flash-photolysis) and luminescence measurements
  • Singlet oxygen measurements: quantum yields of formation and kinetics
  • Optical parametric oscillator giving widely tuneable nanosecond light pulses – 400-1900nm.
  • Non-linear optical measurements
  • Nanosecond transient electroluminescence and photoconductivity measurements
  • Millisecond studies of reaction kinetics by Stopped-Flow


Department of Chemistry

Dr Andy Beeby [Co-ordinator]
Dr Mike Crampton

Department of Physics

Dr Andy P. Monkman [Co-ordinator]
Prof David Bloor
Dr Doug P. Halliday
Dr Graham H. Cross

Department of Archaeology

Dr Ian Bailiff